5 Ways For College Students To Save Money

Hey everyone,

College is about to be back in session soon. I enjoyed college. I met a lot of awesome people and learned a lot.

architecture-1122359_640

However, I was awful with spending money when I was in college. I almost ended up being broke twice.

trouser-pockets-1439412_640

Because of this, I wanted to share with you all ways you can save money without being broke once the semester is over.

Here they are:

  • Get on a meal plan– I ended up eating at the campus eateries a lot without a meal plan and it blew a hole out of my bank account. A meal plan saves you from having to pay full price for food on campus. It also curbs the temptation to eat out frequently.

cafeteria-544871_640

  • Find an inexpensive hobby or free activities on campus– I was depressed during my senior year of college. I took 18 hours worth of classes and was working mostly every night. At the end of my class week, I would go to the mall and blow money left to right. I should have taken advantage of the free items and events my campus offered (or just gone for a walk around campus).

chess-424556_640

  • Try not to buy your textbooks on campus– On my first semester of college, I bought all of my textbooks at the campus bookstore and it cost me around $500. A friend of mine told me that I should have copied and pasted the barcodes for those books and found them online for a cheaper price. I did that the next semester and I saved more money doing it that way. Check out Campus Books.com. They search hundreds of websites and sellers for the best price of textbooks you will need this semester.

books-441866_640

  • Don’t try to impress others by spending a fortune– During the first semester of my sophomore year, I thought I would the coolest person of all time by having a cookout before a soccer match. I spent $200 on meat, bread, condiments, a grill, charcoal, and lighter fluid. In reality, no one even cared. I learned that your friends are the ones that like you for you, not your money or possessions. Find friends that like you whether or not you’re poor or rich.

friendship-1081843_640

  • Stock up on necessities your campus doesn’t offer when they are on sale– One morning, I thought I had enough deoderant to wear to class. Come to find out, that tube was empty. I ended up going to the convenience store that was on campus and ended up paying around $5 for a tube of deoderant. I could have paid half of that price if I would have paid attention to when the stores had it on sale. I could have saved more than that if I would have used coupons on top of that sale price (because I ended up getting a free paper every Sunday and it had coupons in it).

razor-414909_640

Another bonus tip: If you need paper, notebooks, pencils, and other basic supplies for class check out Walmart. I noticed yesterday that they had great prices on those items. It’s cheaper to get those there than buying them at your campus bookstore or convenience store.

office-1319849_640

College can be fun, but it doesn’t have to cost you a fortune.

Please share with me any tips you have on saving money while in college.

Thank You,

Millennial Dude

P.S. If you liked this post please click the like button; subscribe to my blog; and share with your friends.

Leave a Reply

