My Grocery Haul for September

groceries-1343141_640

Hey everyone,

I hope you all had a great Labor Day weekend.

Now, it’s time to get back to the swing of things for everybody.

As mentioned yesterday, I will be discussing on how you can save money on Food (one of our basic needs).

basket-918416_640

Today, I wanted to share with you what I got on my grocery haul for September.

I do my grocery shopping once a month because it helps me save money. I learned that the less trips you make on grocery shopping, the more money you will save. It gets me to eat what I have already bought and overspend on that category in the budget.

shopping-cart-1275483_640

I gave myself $160 this month to spend on groceries. This is not what I would normally spend on groceries a month. I had $100 left over from last month I didn’t spend money on for groceries (I used to give myself $200 a month to spend on groceries at my last job). I used that money plus the $60 a month I give myself to go grocery shopping (That is how much I will spend on groceries now that I switched jobs).

Below is what I got for $160 (Please keep in mind that all of this food will not be consumed within September. I decided to go ahead and stockpile for future months- if money gets tight):

20160904_16570820160904_17061520160904_16420720160904_165020

Here are some deals I scored on:

-Bags and boxes of whole wheat pasta and luxury pasta for $1.00 each

-Big box of Mott’s Fruit Snacks (90 bags) for $7.00 (costs around $28 at Amazon.com)

-Big cans of Dole mandarin oranges for $4.00 per can

-Healthy Choice Pumpkin Squash ravioli with veggie frozen dinners for $1.00 each

-Several Mexican frozen dinners for 79 cents each

-Real fruit lime bars for $1.00 per box (6 bars per box)

-Bags of sweet potato fries for 69 cents each

-4 loaves of Arnold and Pepperidge Farm bread for around $1.25 to $1.50 per loaf

-Bags of blue corn tortilla chips for $1.00 each

-20 ounce bags of On The Border Mexican Restaurant brand tortilla chips for $2.00 each

Did I stay below $160 on my grocery shopping haul?

  • I spent $154. So, I spent $6 less than what I was supposed to spend. I would like to do better on that.

Tomorrow, I will show you how I stayed on budget for groceries and how you can too.

apple-5880_640

Are there any special meals I plan on making this month with my haul?

-Chicken broccoli alfredo

-Pizza out of canned biscuits

-Meatless chili

pizza-329523_640

If you had any questions, comments, tips or ideas for my next haul please let me know.

If you liked this post please like, subscribe, and share with your friends.

Thank You and Have A Great Day

Millennial Dude

spaghetti-863304_640

Leave a Reply

