No-Spend September

thai-1549084_640

Hey everyone,

I’m glad that today is Friday. I get a couple of days off before I have to work again on Monday.

I’m giving you guys a break on saving money on groceries to discuss a topic I told you I was going to tell you more about (on Monday’s blog post).

I am participating in a No-Spend/ Sell September. I got this idea from some people I watch on Youtube that discuss their finances.

youtube-1614709_640

Today, I would like to tell you about the No-Spend part of that.

Here are my own rules to my own No-Spend September:

  • I can only spend money on items I need. I am not allowed to spend money on any items I want.

apple-1055000_640

  • Nothing I want can’t be spent on my bank account or credit cards. I have a couple of gift cards I got as rewards. I am allowed to spend money on those. But that is it.

wallet-1013789_640

  • There will be no new clothes, books, shopping sprees, nor eating out for September.

shopping-mall-522619_640

What do I plan on accomplishing out of this?

  • I would like to work on rebuilding my emergency fund. There is barely any money in it.

emergency-780313_640

  • I would like to start saving money for long-term savings as well. I have not started working on retirement.

norheimsund-1490585_640

  • I would like to start creating a sinking fund for the upcoming holiday season, so everyone I have to buy for will have a nice gift this year.

christmas-541784_640

However, I have already blown No-Spend September by buying a sandwich at the place I work because I forgot to bring my snack to work that morning. However, I only spent $1.60. I’m not shooting myself in the foot for that purchase. I just won’t do it again for the rest of the month.

abstract-1238246_640

Tuesday, I will discuss the Sell part of September.

cashbox-1642989_640

Have you ever participated in a No-Spend month? If so, please tell me more about it in the comments.

If you have any questions, comments, or suggestions, please let me know.

Thank You and Have A Great Weekend

Millennial Dude

Leave a Reply

